A day in the Life

 

 

 

I have no idea how interesting this will be to anyone besides me, but since I hope to be able to use this blog as a way to remind me of things I might need reminding of sometimes, I wanted to do a post about what a day in the life of a long term tourist in Rome- ie, my life these days- looks like. I read about an artist who does a scrapbook project where she picks a day- just a normal day- and photographs the mundane details of it each year, making a scrapbook about it. She’s been doing it for years now (sorry I can’t remember either where I read about it, who the artist was or what the project was called). And I’ve been thinking about doing a similar thing, but it always seemed like too much trouble, not enough interesting things happened, blah blah blah. Well. Maybe this isn’t interesting, and who knows if I’ll actually look back on it and remember things I otherwise would have forgotten, but here is my version of a scrapbook about what my average day looks like right now. These were taken yesterday, Wednesday, October 30th, 2013.

IMG_0514

So this is breakfast. Toast with Nutella and several cups of tea, eaten at my desk.

IMG_0516 IMG_0518

I always walk the same route to get to the Subway because it takes me past Noseface’s porch. Noseface is what I have christened this German Shepard. I don’t know his real name, but Noseface seems, for perhaps obvious reasons, appropriate. Whenever he’s out on the porch, I stop and scratch his ears for a few minutes and it helps with some of the symptoms of my acute lack of dog syndrome.

 

IMG_0519

This is the Metro stop in Piazza Bologna. I take it to get into the center of Rome. The metro ride is hot, muggy, crowded, chaotic and blessedly short.

 

IMG_0520

Today I got off at the Piazza D’Espagna and climbed the steps to enjoy the view and explore the streets around the church at the top of the hill.

IMG_0523

Then I walked over to the Chiesa Santa Maria Sopra Minerva- a beautiful church. One of my favorites for a few reasons, not the least of which is the beautiful sky blue ceiling and the Michael Angelo sculpture at the front.

IMG_0526

Then a quick snack sitting on the church steps, looking at the obelisk and elephant statue in the Piazza out front. There was a guy playing the cello in the square while I ate and it was a beautiful day.

IMG_0530

Then, as I got lost trying to get to where I was trying to go, I stumbled upon the Church of St. Ignazio Loyola. I’ll have more pictures of it in another post- it’s beautiful.

IMG_0536

I wandered past the Temple Adriano, too. Sadly, the facade is all that’s left.

 

IMG_0537

Then I managed to find what I was actually looking for- the Piazza Colonna with this gorgeous, intricately carved column.

IMG_0540 IMG_0541

Right next to the Piazza Colonna is the Largo Chigi, with another of Rome’s ancient Egyptian Obelisks and a trail of metal stars on the ground winding around the Obelisk.

 

IMG_0543

Then back to the Metro- entering at Piazza d’Espagna this time.

IMG_0544

And dinner! Since I’m leaving in two days, I’m running a little low on groceries, so my meals for the past few days have been a bit of an odd combo. I ran out of all my veggies except carrots, so I had a little less colorful meal than usual, but oh well. You all know that feeling of trying to eat up all the perishables and resisting going grocery shopping right before going on a trip because you don’t want to waste the food! Yep, that’s where I am! But tomorrow I take the train to Florence, where I’ll be staying until November 25th, so I can stock up on fresh things again then:)

Leave a Reply

